WRITING GOAL for 2013: NAKED MARKETING

I see a lot of posts about writing. One major theme: setting goals. A whole month has been dedicated to word count and busting out phrases. My thoughts? Just be glad you’re not using a typewriter … or worse … a quill pen. Think of all that time spent dipping the tip in ink to keep up with projections! Then there’s smearing your shirt cuff in the noxious black liquid. I can assure you that it’s not coming out with green friendly detergents. Start with the stuff with the skull and crossbones on the packaging and ratchet up from there.

Me? Even without this epic event, I’ve been writing or editing every day so don’t see that I should involve myself in that end of things. I have control over myself … sort of … well, in that regard, anyway. My major stumble? Marketing. Should add here that I just snapped the heel off my stilettos in discussing this accursed topic.

What’s the problem? Good question. In the beginning, it was a matter of my being clueless … and insecure. Now? It’s that I’m … clueless … and insecure. Not much has changed. Why so insecure, little lady? Don’t know. Suppose it’s my upbringing or outmoded concepts of how a soft-spoken person should behave that’s ruining my big Alexander the Great style advertising campaign ideas. Luckily for me, my books are all raving exhibitionists … and they’re pushing me in dangerous directions!

My newest one, Addune: Part II. The House of Cards, is that way. It’s out of the barn, running down the street, stopping cars by banging on windshields. Did I mention it was naked and that its teeth are bared? Yup, it’s my little baby! I’m a proud parent as I watch it scream, “BUY ME! READ ME!” to anyone that cares … and to those that don’t—but they will.

Have yet to check what the upcoming year is for the Chinese zodiac, but for me, it’s the Year of Naked Marketing. Yes, like my children, I’m stripping down and becoming a savvy ninja advertising machine! I’ma gonna spin out stories, webs, hang upside down on a pole, and dig potholes so deep that your car will fall into one and need fixing. When you come into my shop, I’ll swoop down, tie you up with licorice whips, and give you a spiel that’ll make your head spin and hand reach for your credit card. Whether it’s because you’re interested, or strictly done to make me stop, I don’t know and won’t care!

I’ll be posting on how this goes, but right now? I’m on overdrive … to the max!

And by the way, meet my newest little baby! World here’s The House of Cards. House of Cards here’s the world!

http://www.amazon.com/Addun%C3%A9-Part-II-House-ebook/dp/B00A7I1LEY/ref=la_B002BRGIP6_1_5?ie=UTF8&qid=1353091103&sr=1-5

About WPotocki

I live and write in NYC. If that isn't scary enough, I write in the genre of horror. All my works can be purchased and enjoyed so don't hold yourself back or anything. http://www.amazon.com/Wendy-Potocki/e/B002BRGIP6
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to WRITING GOAL for 2013: NAKED MARKETING

  1. Awesome to meet you “House of Cards.” Love the pick up line too. I will pass that along to my single friends, lol! I seem to struggle with the advertising part of this life that has chosen me. Oh well, I’ll keep plugging along and making myself sell myself too.

Leave a Reply

