THE NEXT BIG THING IS: BLACK ADAGIO!

5121CPEH8ZL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA278_PIkin4,BottomRight,-64,22_AA300_SH20_OU01_I was tagged by fellow writer Gae-Lynn Woods to participate in the Next Big Thing blog chain. I’d like to say here, that I believe her repeated use of a hammer to my head was excessive force, but I’m nonetheless using this opportunity to promo my upcoming book entitled, Black Adagio. It should be out by the beginning of April as I’m busily in the process of editing the wombat of a sucker. I do have it wrestled to the ground, but it’s fighting back something fierce.

I’d like to thank Gae-Lynn for the beatdown as my butt did need whupping. (I’m always up to no good!) I’d like to further encourage you to visit her website http://www.gaelynnwoods.com/ for further info on her Texas crime fiction, The Devil of Light.

1)  What is the working title of your next book?

Black Adagio

2)  Where did the idea come from for the book?

It came to me years ago, before I ever started to write. When I did begin, I figured I’d follow-up on the idea that mixes two of my loves: ballet and horror. Of course all the years I spent taking ballet were drenched in horror, but for markedly different reasons!

3)  What genre does your book fall under?

Definitely horror. Throw a bit of thriller-diller in there as well.

4)  What actors would you choose to play the part of your characters in a movie rendition?

Well, the girl would have to be able to dance. I mean, beyond magnificently! Maybe Yuan Yuan Tan of San Francisco Ballet. I think she possesses that ability to create a mystical presence. For her love interest, maybe Sean Faris. However, I want to make clear that the male ‘part’ is up for grabs. The line starts on the left and ends on the casting couch, but I’m not easily persuaded. In other words, fellas, bring your A-game.

5)  What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

One sentence? I use more words when I sneeze! *grumble grumble* *mutters, “worst question ever!”* Okay, here goes: “A ballet company’s revival of a ‘cursed’ ballet awakens an ancient evil living in the woods of Holybrook.”

6)  Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

Self-published. No agency would ever take me. Not even when they’re bribed with lots of money because I’ve tried. I’m a trust fund baby.

7)  How long did it take you to write the first draft of the manuscript?

About three months.

8)  What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

Um, I don’t know. I’ll say Salem’s Lot only because it’s one of my favorite books in the world, but it’s really not a bit like it. It’s not even about vampires.

9)  Who or what inspired you to write this book?

The scene that I alluded to earlier. I envisioned it when a mere tadpole. It was of a dancer in an empty studio. Something worse than breaking the shank of her pointe shoe transpires. I thought the whole thing was incredibly creepy and something that I would want to read or see in a movie (hint hint), so I wrote it!

10)  What else about the book might pique the reader’s interest?

Those not familiar with the origins of composer Camille Saint-Saëns’ Danse Macabre might find the supernatural aspects of the music compelling. Based on an old folk tale of Death dancing with its intended victim, it is because of these stories that a legend arose. In fact, Death was given its present form as a skeleton carrying a scythe thanks to them although it would be hard to dance holding one!

Here’s the trailer and cover for Black Adagio:

darkadagio2 copy

About WPotocki

I live and write in NYC. If that isn't scary enough, I write in the genre of horror. All my works can be purchased and enjoyed so don't hold yourself back or anything. http://www.amazon.com/Wendy-Potocki/e/B002BRGIP6
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to THE NEXT BIG THING IS: BLACK ADAGIO!

  1. susanjmcleod says:

    I LOVE Danse Macabre! A perfect choice for a trailer. Love the cover too. It sounds like a fantastic read. I don’t know how you get so many creative ideas!

  2. Wow!! I love your post, Wendy, and the trailer! Black Adagio sounds like a great read! So glad you decided to take part in the Blog Hop and give us a sneak peak! (Sorry about the hammer injuries, hope you’re healing…)

  3. nycwriter says:

    Yes, the dents hardly show!

    Thanks and I hope I did the idea justice. It’s always my greatest concern! And thanks for giving me the opportunity to participate in the blog hop!!! I do appreciate!

Leave a Reply

