An Indie Perspective: Fifty Shades of Grey Helps Save a Town

I came across a news story today. While ostensibly written to extoll the generosity of a recent big Powerball jackpot winner, tucked into the article was something that made my little Indie writing ears turn pink with pride!

I have to preface this by saying I’m your typical squirrelly sort of writer. Obsessing about checking sales figures, and not eating, drinking or sleeping until a chapter gets finished, the article gave me a new perspective on things. Who knew there was more to this writing game?

The story mentioned the plight of East Millinocket. Known as “the town that paper made,” it seems that East Millinocket was suffering from hard times. In fact, the paper plant that gave the city its slogan, was closed down. However, the local worker experienced their own struck of luck when help came from a surprising source: Fifty Shades of Grey.

http://usnews.nbcnews.com/_news/2013/07/24/19655439-record-powerball-winner-offers-2-million-to-fix-maine-high-schools-roof?lite

“The town of East Millinocket, once known as “the town that paper made,” suffered a downturn in recent years after the local paper mill closed. Local workers got a boost in 2012, however, after the  re-opened plant got an order to print paper for the runaway erotic series ‘Fifty Shades of Grey.”

This whole idea of indie publishing supporting a cottage industry that is helping people has me smiling. It means that this industry has grown real legs. It not only can be a financially sustainable business for some writers, but that it can now help plants and towns. The power of what Indie publishing has become has opened up my view on what could be accomplished — and changed. It’s sort of the Butterfly Effect in action.

This appeals to my sense of order and need for justice enormously. It tickles my fancy and allows me to focus on something other than me. I’m hoping this post does that for some of you, too. So when times are tough, dig down and consider that you just might accomplish something incredibly noble by sitting in your pajamas, swigging down coffee and ignoring paying those pesky light bills. You could be saving a town.

 

 

About WPotocki

I live and write in NYC. If that isn't scary enough, I write in the genre of horror. All my works can be purchased and enjoyed so don't hold yourself back or anything. http://www.amazon.com/Wendy-Potocki/e/B002BRGIP6
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

