THE NATURE OF GOD

Today was another writing day for me. A day editing my finished story and polishing it like a diamond. But it wasn’t just another day … it turned out to be extraordinary.

I headed to my usual spot at a favorite coffee shop and was about a half hour into editing my novel when this man commented on my “office.” My workspace has become a joke, but then I’ve become a fixture in that spot. I laughed and a conversation ensued. I talked about my writing and he told me about his profession, but the discussion really took off when we got into the arena of being “in the zone.” He spoke about how he gets into the zone when working, and I concurred. I told him I called it “inspiration” to differentiate it from normal functioning because it’s not thought. It’s an altered state … a state where time ceases to exist and hours seem as if seconds went by. It’s why I often get up and have all these aches and pains … along with my mouth being really dry. I’d be wondering why until I checked the time and discovered I’d been sitting at my computer for the entire afternoon.

Being “in the zone” was the launching pad. From there, he went more in-depth into his experiences while I went into talking about my newest project. At its heart, the novel will be about my relationship with God. I added the caveat that it “wouldn’t be that boring, though.” He laughed and I told him about one scene that has to do with symmetry, something I’ve become quite fixated with lately. It revolves around the Einstein quote that, “God does not play dice with the universe.” I talked all about how this scene would be proof that God exists and make a non-believer a believer because it’s absolutely impossible for it to happen without God. During the explanation, I noticed him lean over and reach into his shoe. I kept talking while he did this, and when finished, he just sat there, staring at me for a moment. I was wondering why, but he soon let me know.

While I was talking about this “proof of God,” something had happened. It seems he had listened to this tarot reading a few weeks back … one on YouTube. At one point, the tarot reader asked the viewer to think of a sign … something that they would accept as so unusual or unique, that if it happened, they would immediately recognize and know this reading was for them. He said that when she said this, he’d thought of a feather … a feather that just drifted down and fell on him. He stated that that would be his proof and that while I was talking … it happened. He raised the hand placed on the bench he was sitting on, and in it was a feather held between his fingers. He said it drifted down as he’d imagined and that it had landed in his sneaker. IN HIS SNEAKER! That was why he’d leaned over! He’d gotten the feather out of his SNEAKER! He pointed to his sneaker to show me where he’d reached. Now really, the space was at his arch, and there was the NARROWEST OF MARGINS where it pulled away from the curve. We all wear sneakers. You can only dig in one finger in this area if you’re attempting to fix your sock. Put a sneaker on and see for yourself because it is theoretically impossible for someone to purposely drop something over someone’s head and have it land in that space since it involves the feather have to float and drift just enough to avoid body parts before it drifts in at the ankle and homes in on that area.

KABOOM! We were beyond amazed. It just couldn’t have happened, and, yet, it did. I’ve been having such a tough time lately … tough in keeping the faith. It resulted in my begging and pleading for God to show proof that He was still there … protecting and guiding me … and a Father always answers a child’s prayers.

So, there you have it. This very imperfect person was given the proof prayed for. And the man I spoke with, he received his proof, too. No doubt, that reading was meant for him. As for me, I definitely will be writing that book … and spreading the news that God is good and to never lose faith.

About WPotocki

I live and write in NYC. If that isn't scary enough, I write in the genre of horror. All my works can be purchased and enjoyed so don't hold yourself back or anything. http://www.amazon.com/Wendy-Potocki/e/B002BRGIP6
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment